Quick Answer: The best electric fireplace stove for most rooms is the Duraflame 3D Infrared Electric Fireplace Stove (DFI-5010), $259.99 on Amazon at our October 30, 2026 check. Duraflame rates its 5,200 BTU infrared heater for up to 1,000 sq ft, and the glass door actually opens. On a 120V outlet, every electric stove makes about 5,000 BTU (1,500W × 3,412 BTU per kWh, per the EIA), so you’re choosing a look, not more heat. The one exception is the real cast-iron Amantii Lynwood ($2,299-$2,599). It weighs 145 lb by Amantii’s own spec sheet and can be hardwired to 240V for up to 20,000 BTU.
An electric stove is the wood-stove version of a freestanding electric fireplace: a squat body on legs, a door with a window, and a flame effect over logs. People shopping for one usually want something specific, either a cabin look in a room with no chimney or something to sit on an old wood-stove hearth. If you’d rather have a mantel or a TV console, those are in our best freestanding electric fireplace guide. This page covers stoves only. We checked current Amazon prices, item weights, and the makers’ own spec sheets for every pick.
Electric fireplace stoves compared
| Stove | Body | Heat (120V) | Rated area | Weight | Price (Oct 30, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duraflame 3D Infrared Stove DFI-5010 | Metal, opening glass door | 5,200 BTU infrared | Up to 1,000 sq ft (Duraflame) | 28.6 lb | $259.99 |
| Duraflame Infrared Quartz Stove DFI-550-22 | Metal, arched frame, opening door | 5,200 BTU infrared | Up to 1,000 sq ft (Duraflame) | 19.14 lb | $219.99 |
| Duraflame 3D Stove Heater DFS-114 | Compact, carry handle | High/low heat | Up to 400 sq ft | 10.38 lb | $129.99 |
| ZAFRO 3D Stove YH-20-3D | Compact, splayed feet | 1,000/1,500W, 5,100 BTU | Not stated | Not stated | $89.96 (deal) |
| Amantii Lynwood E50/E70 (Sierra Flame) | Real cast iron | 5,000 BTU (20,000 hardwired 240V) | 400 sq ft at 120V, 900 sq ft at 240V | 145 lb (E70) | $2,299-$2,599 |
Prices are Amazon buy-box prices from our October 30, 2026 check, except the Amantii E50, which is Flame Authority’s price. Weights are Amazon item weights, except the Amantii, which comes from its spec sheet.
By the numbers
- 5,118 BTU: the most heat a 1,500W plug-in can produce, using the EIA’s 3,412 BTU per kWh. Brand ratings of 5,000 to 5,200 BTU are rounding around that same figure.
- 12.5 amps: what a 1,500W stove draws on 120V, the figure Amantii’s spec sheet lists for its own 120V setting.
- 145 lb vs. 10-29 lb: Amantii’s cast-iron E70 against Duraflame’s three metal stoves (Amazon item weights 10.38, 19.14, and 28.6 lb). The cast-iron stove is 5 to 14 times heavier.
- 27.5 cents an hour: the cost of running any 1,500W stove on full heat at the EIA’s September 2026 average of 18.34 cents per kWh.
- 31,000 units: Duraflame DFS-220 stove heaters recalled in 2014 for overheating (CPSC 14-120). It’s an older model and isn’t one of the picks below.
1. Duraflame 3D Infrared Electric Fireplace Stove (DFI-5010): Best Overall
Duraflame 3D Infrared Electric Fireplace Stove (DFI-5010)
- It looks like a real stove. Duraflame's listing describes side viewing windows, "a glass door that really opens," and a brick-style back panel. Most budget stoves have a fixed front, so a working door is a big part of what makes this one convincing.
- Infrared heat with a thermostat. The 5,200 BTU infrared quartz heater has an adjustable thermostat, and the remote controls the flame, the heat, and an on/off timer, according to MantelsDirect's product description. Duraflame rates it for up to 1,000 sq ft. Treat that as an upper limit for supplemental heat, not what it will do in a typical room.
- Price: $259.99 on Amazon in black on October 30, 2026, and $269.99 at MantelsDirect. Other colors were also $259.99 on Amazon except one variant listed at $251.99.
- Watch for: It doesn't have the SaferPlug overheat-sensing plug Twin Star Home added to its October 2025 Duraflame collection. Our Duraflame lineup guide explains which models have it.
Skip the long shipping wait and be cozy sooner — try Amazon Prime free for 30 days and get your electric fireplace delivered in two days.
2. Duraflame Infrared Quartz Electric Fireplace Stove (DFI-550-22): Best Classic Look for Less
Duraflame Infrared Quartz Electric Fireplace Stove Heater (DFI-550-22)
- The same heat as #1 for $40 less. Amazon's listing gives the same 5,200 BTU infrared heater and the same "up to 1,000 square feet" rating as the DFI-5010.
- A classic stove silhouette. The listing describes "an operational door and arched frame detailing" with glowing logs and an ember bed. Unlike the DFI-5010's listing, it doesn't mention Duraflame's 3D layered flame.
- Colors: black, cream, cinnamon, and bronze, all $219.99 on Amazon on October 30, 2026.
- Watch for: At 19.14 lb it's light enough to move between rooms. That also means it's a painted metal body, not cast iron, whatever the finish looks like.
3. Duraflame Electric Stove Heater with 3D Flame (DFS-114): Best Small Stove
duraflame Electric Stove Heater with 3D Flame Effect (DFS-114-01-A23)
- A desk-to-hearth size stove. At 13.2 inches wide and 10.38 lb with a carry handle, it fits a bedroom corner, a home office, or a small hearth where a 24-inch stove would look crowded.
- An honest rating: Duraflame rates this one for up to 400 sq ft with a high/low setting, the same figure most brands give a 1,500W heater. It has a stacked-stone back panel and a 3D flame that works with or without heat.
- Who makes it: Amazon lists the manufacturer as Twin-Star International, the same company behind the 2014 DFS-220 recall. This is a different and newer model, but if you find an older small Duraflame stove secondhand, check its label for "DFS-220."
- For more compact options beyond stoves, see our best small electric fireplace picks.
4. ZAFRO 3D Flame Electric Fireplace Stove (YH-20-3D): Best Under $100
ZAFRO Electric Fireplace Heater Stove with 3D Flame (YH-20-3D)
- The cheapest stove we'd consider. It was $89.96 on a limited-time Amazon deal running October 22 to November 5, 2026. Another seller had it at $85.46 with one unit left.
- The features that matter at this price: the listing names a thermostat, two heat settings (1,000W and 1,500W), overheat shut-off, a flame-only mode, and ETL certification in the title. Outward-splayed feet are meant to reduce tipping.
- Watch for: ZAFRO is a lesser-known Amazon-sold brand. The listing data we pulled shows no warranty term and no item weight, and we found no information on U.S. service. When it arrives, check for the ETL or UL mark on the unit's own rating label, not just in the listing title.
5. Amantii Lynwood Cast Iron Electric Stove (Sierra Flame E50/E70): Best Real Cast Iron
Amantii Lynwood Freestanding Cast Iron Electric Stove (E50 / E70)
- Actually made of cast iron. Amantii's November 2025 brochure lists "Real Cast Iron Construction" in two sizes: the 23" W E50 and the 28" W E70, both 28 1/4" H x 17 1/2" D. Amantii's December 2025 E70 spec sheet gives a unit weight of 145 lb and a shipping weight of 185 lb. Amazon's listing says 140.9 lb.
- The only stove here that can run on 240V. Per the E70 spec sheet, the 120V plug-in setting is 1,500W/12.5A/5,000 BTU for about 400 sq ft. Hardwired to 240V, it runs 3,000W/10,000 BTU for about 600 sq ft or 6,000W/25A/20,000 BTU for about 900 sq ft. The 240V setup needs an electrician. Our 220V/240V electric fireplace guide covers what that involves.
- Prices: Amazon sells the E70 as the "Sierra Flame E-70 Cast Iron Electric Fireplace" (model E70-NA) for $2,599. Flame Authority lists the current high-output E50-HO at $2,299 (list $3,103.65) and the E70-HO at $2,599 (list $3,508.65). Warranty is 2 years.
- Watch for two versions. Amazon's E70-NA listing describes a lower heat vent, a 10-piece birch log set, and "up to 5000 BTU, enough to heat up 500 sq. ft." Amantii's current HO brochure and spec sheet describe an upper heat vent, WiFi app control, and a 400 sq ft rating at 120V. Both listings say the stove can be hardwired, but if you want WiFi control, confirm which version the seller is shipping before you order. More on the brand is in our Amantii buyer's guide.
Cast iron vs. “cast-iron look”: how to tell
Searches for “cast iron electric stove” mostly turn up painted metal stoves with a black or bronze finish. Color names like “vintage iron” describe the paint, not the material. Here’s what separates the real thing:
| Check | Real cast iron (Amantii Lynwood) | Cast-iron look (typical budget stove) |
|---|---|---|
| Listing wording | "Real Cast Iron Construction" (Amantii brochure) | "Metal body," "classic stove design," or a color name |
| Weight | 145 lb unit / 185 lb shipped (E70 spec sheet) | 10-29 lb (Duraflame Amazon item weights) |
| Heat at 120V | 5,000 BTU | 5,100-5,200 BTU |
| Higher output option | Hardwire to 240V for 10,000 or 20,000 BTU | None, plug-in only |
| Price | $2,299-$2,599 | $90-$260 |
| Moving it between rooms | Two-person job | Carry it by hand |
Cast iron doesn’t add heat on a 120V outlet. At 1,500W, the Amantii puts out the same 5,000 BTU or so as a $130 Duraflame. You’re paying for a heavy, permanent-looking piece of furniture and the option to hardwire it for four times the output later.
Electric stove vs. a real wood stove
If you’re replacing a wood stove, know what changes. A plug-in electric stove at 5,000 BTU is a supplemental zone heater for one room, not a whole-house heat source. In exchange, you get no chimney, flue, ash, or wood storage, and the flame runs on its own in summer. If you want more heat from electric, the hardwired Amantii is the only stove-format unit in this guide that goes beyond 1,500W. For heat-first buying across all fireplace styles, see our best electric fireplace heater rankings.
Where to put an electric stove safely
- On a hard, level surface. An old wood-stove hearth is ideal. On a wood floor or carpet, a hearth pad protects the floor; our hearth pad guide covers when it’s worth it.
- 3 feet from anything that burns. The CPSC’s clearance guidance for space heaters applies to electric stoves: keep curtains, furniture, and bedding at least 3 feet away.
- Straight into a wall outlet. No extension cords or power strips. At 12.5 amps, a 1,500W stove uses most of a 15-amp circuit by itself.
- One stove per circuit. Two stoves, or a stove and another space heater, on the same circuit will usually trip the breaker.
The bottom line
For most people, the Duraflame DFI-5010 ($259.99) is the electric fireplace stove to buy. It has an opening door, side windows, a thermostat, and Duraflame’s 5,200 BTU infrared heater. The DFI-550-22 gives you the same heat in a simpler classic shape for $219.99. The DFS-114 ($129.99) suits small rooms, and the ZAFRO is the sub-$100 option if you check the safety mark on the box. Buy the Amantii Lynwood only if you want real cast iron or plan to hardwire it to 240V. At $2,299 to $2,599 and 145 lb, it’s a permanent fixture, not a portable heater. Whichever you choose, it’s the same 1,500W of heat on a normal outlet, so pick for looks and size. Our 1,000 sq ft claim breakdown explains how to read heating-area ratings.
Sources checked October 30, 2026: Amazon listings via the Amazon product API (prices, item weights, and features for Duraflame DFI-5010-01, DFI-550-22, DFS-114-01-A23, ZAFRO YH-20-3D, and Sierra Flame E70-NA), MantelsDirect (DFI-5010-01), Amantii’s E50/E70 brochure (November 2025) and E70 spec sheet (December 2025), Flame Authority (E50-HO and E70-HO prices), the CPSC recall database (recall 14-120 plus brand searches), and EIA conversion and electricity-price data.